AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

filling a propane tank.
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

twraska
Posted 1/14/2023 06:12 (#10039031 - in reply to #10038973)
Subject: RE: filling a propane tank.

Wallis, TX
Mike SE IL - 1/14/2023 03:12

I've written a response and deleted it twice.  The problem is it keeps getting bigger and bigger.  First an answer to "Who is this guy?"  I'm a farmer that has been working full time / part time / peak season in the propane industry since 1992.  I'm also a recently retired volunteer Fire Chief. I've reached the place I may be thought of as "The Old Guy'.  Let's start with a background on "codes".  The National Fire Protection Association publishes all kinds of codes and standards.  It starts with NFPA 1 and goes to NFPA 8506.  I've studied some of them and if you can't get to sleep just grab one and start reading.

NFPA itself has no authority. However most states adopt the NFPA codes into law.  For fuel gas NFPA 58 (mostly outside the building) and NFPA 54 (mostly inside the building) are the basics.  Most states adopt a specific edition.  I'm not sure about Iowa.  Illinois has adopted NFPA 58 2011 edition.  There are Federal regulations.  Some states (Texas for example) have their own additional rules and regulations.  Some municipalities get involved as well.  And some suppliers or their insurance provider have even more rules to follow. But all those can only be more strict than 54 and 58.  When I started there were more lawyers buying copies of the national fuel gas code than propane folks.  That simple fact changed how a lot of things were done.  I'm not going to quote "chapter and verse" but we can get into if someone wants a reference.  Oh, and JAnderson it isn't BS, it's not only the law but a matter of safety.