AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

population on dryland corn
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

COdrylander
Posted 11/23/2008 19:49 (#514781 - in reply to #514520)
Subject: RE: population on dryland corn

NE CO
When I first started growing dryland corn in NE CO, I planted 13,500/ac. After several years of good years of 60bu/ac yields, the seed dealers convinced me to move to the 16,000 populations. I still had yields of 60 bu/ac in average years, and much less in poor years. I have been planting only 8300 seeds/ac for the past 5 years, and don't think I have taken much of a hit for it, and in fact some years I have produced corn when neighbors with 13-16K populations have raised nothing. Last year, we had a lot of rain late in the season, and I had one field yield over 100 bu/acre, with high producing parts of the field peaking out at 160 bu/ac on the yield monitor, so a high flex corn can produce good yields with low populations. This year was very dry early, with some late rains, and yields averaged between 20-80 bu/ acre across the farm.