AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Clover question for the grass seed guys
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

Old Pokey
Posted 8/30/2007 00:14 (#195520 - in reply to #195458)
Subject: RE: Clover question for the grass seed guys

I'm no expert, so what I say , you should back up from a reputable source before you take it as good info. However, I have seen a few folks somewhat successfully run a 3rd year clover field. Our problem is "clover root borer". That's slang for stupidous damnbug. http://www.oregonclover.org/seedproduction.html Funy thing, or not so funny depending on your sense of humor, the harder you work to make your stand healthy, the harder the borer hits and kills it. If you have a camera, take a clover stem or two and cut the stem open down by the crown. (root borer is commonly known as crown borer too) Take a pic of the open stem and post it. Slice it at an angle if you can.