AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Raven with Ag Leader??
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 6/13/2022 05:59 (#9702812 - in reply to #9702211)
Subject: RE: Raven with Ag Leader??

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
Yes on both questions. I worked as a Tech and also a famer/user with Raven 440,450,460 controllers for several years. When Ag Leader created their Direct Command concept it was quite obvious that they thoroughly investigated these popular controllers and made certain that they included all the features. In many respects these "sometimes used" extras are exactly the same as the Raven implementation and some are actually better or more logical.

The Ag Leader system for a sprayer would consist of the following parts: An Ag Leader Display such as an Insight, Edge, Integra, Versa, InCommand 800 or InCommand 1200. These units can be unlocked for auto swath. Although you could spray without the auto swath unlock, it would defeat the idea of having the system automatically control the boom sections ON/OFF. The auto swath unlock is included with the Integra and InCommand 1200. It is available for the other displays.

A GPS system is needed for speed and location. Several models from various sources are available. If the vehicle already has a GPS, it is generally possible to share it with an Ag Leader display.

The following describes the legacy system with which I am familiar.

A module is needed to convey your intentions concerning a Master switch and section switches to the system. This can be done one of two ways. You must use one of these ways but would not (cannot) use both at the same time. One approach is to use Ag Leader's Auxiliary Input Module with a loose dumb switch box, a toggle switch or an adapter to the OEM switches already on a sprayer. This AIM is a black box with no display or switches.