AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Greenstar RTK Radio Power Boost
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

Jacob Bolson
Posted 3/27/2008 19:17 (#343255 - in reply to #342520)
Subject: Re: Greenstar RTK Radio Power Boost

Iowa
triplegfarms - 3/27/2008 05:38

I have been using RTK for about 4 years now. But, we are very hilly and have lots of trees. I have 3 base stations and and move them around from farm to farm. I had a tech from John Deere come the other day to help me setup a network. He told me that some were using 5 watt power boosters. I am testing now with the radio up about 120 ft and can get good coverage for about 2 1/2 miles. I was thinking with more power it would help me blast the signal through some trees and such. I bought 6 db gain antennas also but have not installed them yet. Also I talked to my local radio shop yesterday and the tech looked at the FCC regulations for that band (902-928) and there are no power restrictions. I need to cover about 14,000 acres over about 32 miles from end to end. I was just thinking if some of you new a good brand or had used a particular one it would be helpful. Thanks for the replies.

With all due respect, I hope you're not selling a signal to anyone else. Having illegal power levels for personal use is one thing, it's an entirely new game if you're selling that signal too.

djohnhill - 3/27/2008 09:42

Triplegfarms quoted...

"Also I talked to my local radio shop yesterday and the tech looked at the FCC regulations for that band (902-928) and there are no power restrictions."

In fact, there are many restrictions on the 902-928 ISM band in the US and Canada.

Ensure your radio tech is familiar with the FCC rules:

http://a257.g.akamaitech.net/7/257/2422/16nov20071500/edocket.acces...

Section 15.247 Operation within the bands 902 - 928 MHz
===================================================