AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Raven Sidekick and auto swath
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 3/4/2008 02:22 (#325319 - in reply to #325192)
Subject: RE: Raven Sidekick and auto swath

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
I have no experience yet with the Direct Command direct control of the Raven Sidekick Injection pump that is being offered on a somewhat limited basis this year.

I have used a workaround with a second Direct Command Liquid Control Module feeding a Raven Injection motor control on my personal sprayer for a couple of years. Another DC LCM controls the carrier. This was a fairly complex workaround and required several custom cables. This plan was not approved nor encouraged by Ag Leader.

Your fears about small boom widths are somewhat warranted in certain conditions. The fact that several booms could be involved (the Ag Leader Switchbox would allow 10) is not a problem. A slight problem may occur on the "low end" of the flow range when only a small boom section is ON.

The Injection pump can be controlled or run by several consoles in the Raven family and now Ag Leader's DC Direct Injection Module. The consoles use the Target Rate, Ground Speed and the Total Width of Booms that are ON at to calculate the proper flow rate per minute. They then try to run the pump at the correct speed to attain this pumping rate. If the flow demands exceed the capacity of the pump there would be a problem. Likewise if the flow demand on the pump is very low, the pump can stall.

Raven has had a low flow limit on their consoles for some time. The purpose of this value is to set a "floor" on the flow rate. Its original purpose was to prevent tips from "checking off" on a sprayer.