AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

homemade jug rinse (from below)
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

Luke Skywalker
Posted 6/17/2006 09:56 (#20043 - in reply to #19764)
Subject: Same Principle - a Little Sexier

Arva, Ontario
I purchased an induction cone for our water trailer from a guy just southeast of Detroit, MI. (hint - in Ontario)

He was a millright by trade trying to make ends meet on the farm by making little runs of devices that farmers or industry would want.

His induction cone, while a little small (holds ~ 8 gallon) had a 16" lid that a 2.5 gallon jug would fit down into, and a jug rinser. He had made a stainless steel tube that had a bulkhead fitting that secured it near the top of the cone, but then followed down along the slope, and made about a 135 degree curve and came back up about 10-12" dead square in the middle of the cone. Then he built a little nozzle with several holes that was small enough (and important at the time) to fit a Pursuit jug over.
The feature I like is that there is lots of room to get a jug down and over the nozzle, and well down into the cone. The rinse water is supplied from the vent port of the pump, and if I partly close the valve on the output side of the pump, can raise enough pressure to blast old stock Atrazine off the bottom of a jug.
When complete, set the lid back on the cone, and the nozzle rinses down the cone. Repeat a couple of times and get ready to go.

If anyone is interested, he might be willing to sell the tube/nozzle portion only (easier to UPS in a big envelope than a whole cone) - if he's still doing this sort of thing. Heck of a nice guy to deal with.