AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Wiring Help
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 6/24/2007 06:53 (#166087 - in reply to #165907)
Subject: RE: Wiring Help

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
I am not familiar with the MT 150 nor your Lowrance unit. I have some experience in mating various devices together which may or may not be useful.

Here are a few thoughts: 1) the GPS will certainly need 12 V power and Ground to operate. If the MT 150 gets power from another connector then the power issue is covered. 2) the GPS needs to get its information to the Lowrance unit. I am quite certain that only pins 2, 3 and 5 will be involved with this conncection. 3) Transmit and Recieve can be confusing since the Transmit wire from the GPS needs to be connected to the Receive wire of the Lowrance. 4) the BAUD rate between the two devices will need to agree. If the GPS currently works with your PF3000, it is most likely set at 4800 which from my experience is fairly likely to be correct for the Lowarance. Your GPS is also probably set to Output GGA and VTG to the PF3000. GGA is almost always utilized and VTG is used for speed. Your GPS unit must also be set to 8,N,1 if it is communicating with the PF3000. Again this is very common and may be correct for the Lowrance.