AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

A note from the USDA
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

V_Key
Posted 4/8/2009 13:31 (#673568)
Subject: A note from the USDA

Gilroy 35 Miles Over the Hill From Santa Cruz
… Now I find myself in the position of asking you to forward something along to your e-mail list recipients.

As a bit of a quick introduction, I am a retired professor and administrator at the University of Nevada, Reno (I am still doing all of my teaching that is mostly done in our College of Agriculture, Biotechnology and Natural Resources). After I received your message regarding the FASS May 4 Symposia it occurred to me that you might be able to assist me with another project that I'm currently involved in.

In short, …I agreed to be the Judging Co-Chair for the 2009 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) to be held here in Reno, NV during the period 10-16 May 2009. The Intel ISEF is nothing like what you may remember about the local elementary school's science fair. The week-long Intel Intentional Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF) is the world's largest pre-college celebration of science and is held annually in May. This event brings together approximately 1,500 of the brightest high school students from all 50 States and 50+ countries, regions, and territories to compete for more than $4 million in Grand Awards scholarships, tuition grants, internships, scientific field trips, and three grand prizes of $50,000 college scholarships. In addition to the Grand Awards there are numerous Special Awards, including scholarships, sponsored by private organizations, professional societies, and governmental agencies that are also valued at about $4 million.