AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Sour Throat Calf
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Stock TalkMessage format

chris4440
Posted 4/28/2011 14:44 (#1750624)
Subject: Sour Throat Calf

kirby,Ohio
I have been feeding calf's for 18 years and in 2 years I couldn't find any calf's to bottle feed. So I findly found a dairy farm 5 or 7 miles from home and have been getting calf's that are from 4 to 7 days old the owner said he well not sell them to any one in tell they have 3 days of colostrum. The 1st set I got 6 in and so I let them get relax for a hour or so then I would check there temp every 1 I get in but the first set was from 101 to 103 but I gave them there shots I gave them shots every new calf I get in for 3 days to make sure they don't get sick. But the 1st one died the next day that had a temp of 103 because he wouldn't drink any milk. But the rest did but then they start going down hill. I got 4 a week later and then 3 more 4 days after I got the 2nd ones but for the first ones I got in out of 6 I have 1 I lift and I have gave the calf's antibiotic BRD ( sorry Reading off the vet bill ) Scours pills, New floor, Bo se. I gave them shots for the first 3 days every time I get a new calf's in Allot people say it not my fault because we had high winds or rainy days and nights and low 40's and high 60's to 70's. So I moved all 10 head in to a barn to get dry from the change of the funny weather. I had 4 get sick the next day they was in the barn so I called the vet and told what happen and he check them out and told what they had and 2 of the 4 he said they may not make it well yesterday morning 1 was daed they we though there was nothing wrong and 2nd one he was about daed so i finish him off and had 3 one he drink all the milk but he couldn't stand but he tryed like that for a week he fight to stand up and i try to hold him up and to walk him but he daed yesterday to so out of the first set i got in