AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

How much is too much wind to fly a drone?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Drone TalkMessage format

ScottKS
Posted 5/24/2022 09:51 (#9673235 - in reply to #9672638)
Subject: RE: How much is too much wind to fly a drone?

+ 1 on Ron's comments.

I have four years of experience with a Phantom 4 Pro and 30 plus years experience flying R/C aircraft and I will push the envelope a little further than some. I will launch and fly in 25 mph sustained, with gusts to 30 mph and the photos and videos are still rock solid and very usable. I have no experience with winds higher than that, as I get a little nervous at those speeds and usually there's blowing dust or residue that isn't desirable for our purposes anyway. Most of my flying involves filming moving farm equipment and what I find is that as I rotate around the machine, I start running out of stick travel on the controller, and sometimes I can't keep up with the tractor going into the wind, especially at very low altitudes.

I launch and land with the "catch in hover" technique as the drone tends blow over when attempting to launch and land. I also do not recommend this, but if you do, practice the technique with little or no wind and as Ron said, punch it on the launch and get it to a safe altitude. When pushing the wind envelope, I ALWAYS fly upwind to ensure that I can get the drone back to my location. Also, be familiar with the flight modes on the upper left side of the controller, I fly in P "position" mode most of the time since it utilizes the drone's anti-collision sensors, but if you get in a bind you can use S "sport" mode to get some extra speed to deal with high winds, just be aware that the drone's anti-collision sensors are off and you'll likely see the props in the photos or videos.