AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Has anyone made a grain inventory database in Microsoft Access?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Computer TalkMessage format

Farmer Blue
Posted 5/19/2021 19:35 (#9014324 - in reply to #9010959)
Subject: RE: Has anyone made a grain inventory database in Microsoft Access?

South of the River
Over the last 12 years I have been building and using an Access database for my in town job. Electrical construction. It tracks customers, projects, labor, rates, payroll, materials, equipment, creates invoices, work tickets, materials orders, etc. It contains 800 queries (including update, append, delete, make table), 200 forms, 100 reports, 75 tables. It is networked over several computers and users. It works great. It has become somewhat of an odd hobby. I am not a programmer or designer, just an electrician/farmer computer hack. I have thought about making a database for our small farming operation, but have not had the time yet.

I find the programmer purists online hate Access for various reasons. Arrogance, I think, because anyone can build a db with it. Access has a size limit. With a single (even very large) farming operation I don't think you will ever reach size limitations unless you have a table record for each bushel. Access can be ornery on a network, but likely not an issue either for a farm.