AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Using old Smartphone for surveillance/baby monitor etc.
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Computer TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 12/20/2021 07:47 (#9387539 - in reply to #9387459)
Subject: RE: Using old Smartphone for surveillance/baby monitor etc.

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
Since I just started playing with this yesterday, I don't fully understand all the details. Some of my observations may be incorrect.

The phone or tablet that is being used as the "camera" is allowed to go to sleep in the sense that its screen goes very dim. I'm don't know if this would be considered asleep or awake. I believe it would be using less power during this time..

I have my iPhone 6 as the dooryard camera mounted by a window in my house. That means that it is close enough to WIFI in the house to communicate with it. I have the iPhone 6 plugged into a wall charger. I am somewhat concerned about the constant charging which may be detrimental to the iPhone 6 battery. I used a small output charger rather than the higher output one that came with my iPad Pro.

The App suggests that a timer might be used. I have a very basic timer available with ON/OFF pegs. I plugged it in a wall outlet and then the charger to USB into the timer. I set it for the correct time and put an ON peg at 9 pm and an OFF peg at 11 pm for a trial. If 2 hours ON and 22 hours OFF doesn't maintain the battery I can extend the charging time. Later edit: I got a warning message on the viewer phone around Noon that the camera phone was at 49% charge. Looks like I need to go with maybe a 3 hours ON and 3 hours OFF cycle for the charger..