AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

10%+ unemployment thru 2015?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Market TalkMessage format

Pat H
Posted 12/13/2009 07:34 (#963501 - in reply to #962235)
Subject: You're exactly right Jim

cropsey, il 61731
We can't get anywhere unless we make something. When I was an automotive development engineer at Chrysler I noticed that money ruled over quality all the time. We we're not allowed to design something good and later work on cost reduction through efficiency or correcting what may turn out to be 'overdesign'. To me the product rules - bad product, no one wants it and choruses of 'buy american' won't fix it. We were never a spend too much money company (Chryco), yet when we should have been making product improvement investment, we hired 'business groups' to live with us unjineers to peck away at any remaining quality. Of course this is from an engineering point of view - but given the state of the American auto industry, I'm not far off (folks are voting for Honda and Toyota and to some extent Ford now). I worked for Mitsubishi (arguably the AMC of Japan) and they were still miles ahead on the whole importance of the product - they failed a lot, but that was their corporate culture (ie. lets make something really neat that only 4 people want).