AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Alfalfa, putting N back in, When?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

Hay Wilson in TX
Posted 10/21/2007 11:14 (#223867 - in reply to #223619)
Subject: My personal opinion, for what it is worth

Little River, TX
Realize summer drought is the usual for Central Texas, rather than the exception. Add to this I am a hay farmer not into program crops.
It is my observations that we need extra fertilizer during a dry year than for a wet one. Probably the crop can find enough fertility in a drier soil if the fertility level is much higher. This thinking flies into the face of conventional wisdom but it works in my hay fields.
As to paying for another's error? I am torn here. I would probably expect the fertilizer sales force to pick up application cost and the difference between retail and their cost for the material. But then with my heavy clay soils things may work different than for your soils.
Because you drew them a map with explicit instructions there should have not been any misunderstanding. Any Aw Shucks should be on their time, as long as you did not leave anything up to their discretion.