AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Selling our first house? What would you do?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

martin
Posted 12/2/2010 09:24 (#1464635 - in reply to #1463985)
Subject: RE: Selling our first house? What would you do?

I am no expert on these matters, so you can take my thoughts for exactly what you paid for them. However.......

my thinking is that a mobile home depreciates, not appreciates. Take a look at how old it is.... at what point does the value of the mobile home depreciate to "zero"? Maybe it would be a good idea to have a realtor give you a value on the land only.  What could you sell a vacant lot, with utilities, for?  Maybe if you advertised it as a vacant lot, where someone could build their dream home, and you take care of getting rid of the mobile home..... I'd say that is an option to explore.  Take a look at this angle and see how it looks, compared to selling it at a $14,000 "loss", or even a $9,000 "loss".  Around here, I would say a 5-acre lot is a very large lot, and, around here, the lot would be worth more than the mobile home.  At least I would think so. That is why I would advocate looking at this angle.  However, I realize this is a regional thing,  so your circumstances might be different.