AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Pissed with the firefighters
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

jumpinfarmer
Posted 10/7/2010 23:26 (#1387674 - in reply to #1386987)
Subject: RE: Pissed with the firefighters

western NY
I farm and am also a volunteer firefighter, have been since I was a freshman in High School. I'm not stupid as you may think, somehow with the limited brain power that you state that I have as a farmer I manage to farm 1,100 acres 1/3 of which I own and make around 25% of the fire calls in my department which amounts to around 200 a year. I have served as leutennant (sp) for two years but gave it up because i couldn't commit the time required not because I was to ignorant as you may think. I hold over a dozen certificates from the NY State fire protection school including, Essentials of Firemanship, pump operations, ladder operations, Has-mat operations, saftey and survival, and many more I can't remember. But I guess I'm still just a dumb farmer in your stuck up Maryland eyes.

As for what I think of what happened in TN. Well the guy didn't pay his bill, I've heard it was a one time oversight and also he had never payed at all. even if it was a one time oversight don't you think he would have at some point gotten a second bill or reminder? He had apperantly lived there for some time so he must have been fermilure with the system he was living under, not a surprise as some have said. I have simpothy for him and his family but also see the whole picture. It is a city fire department and if you live outside the taxing jurusdiction you must pay up front for service, just like insurance. You wouldn't expect to be able to buy crop insureance in the middle of a hail storm, would you? The plain fact is someone has to pay for the service since there is no fire tax.